Explore the fortress ruins with its still-intact Knights’ Hall and cylindrical Gothic tower. Tour the historical exhibition that includes reproductions of guns and knights' armor, drawings and pictures of the property, as well as a scale wooden model of the Castle complex.
700 Years Ago
A landmark of European romanticism
Breathtaking vistas overlooking the Elbe river
The gothic ruins of the fortress-like Střekov Castle was built in 1316 for John of Luxemburg by his royal architect and engineer, Pešek of Veitmile. It originally guarded the important trade route to Germany. After 1479, the family Glacs´of Starý Dvůr acquired the Castle, repaired the fortifications and built two houses next to the smaller tower and eastern wall.
There are two restaurants at Střekov Castle; Kovárna and Wágnerka. Kovárna restaurant is housed within the original blacksmith's workshop of the castle located at the entrance gate. You can also dine at the top of the Castle with a beautiful panoramic view at Wágnerka restaurant.
Throughout the year, Střekov Castle plays host to many special events and festivals, most popular of which are the annual music and wine festivals.