PKF - LOBKOWICZ abonmá: 

Janáček. Mozart. Suk

Monday, October 18, 2021, 19:00

Performers: Stefan Dohr, french horn, conductor


Josef Suk
Meditation on the Old Bohemian Chorale “Saint Wenceslas” Op.35a

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Concerto for Horn and Orchestra No. 3 E-flat major, K. 447

Leoš Janáček

Concert schedule:

6.00 pm Welcome drink and tour of the exhibition
6.30 pm Stories from the Arts - “Still Life in the Lobkowicz Collections”, lecturers: Dita Baker and Lucie Vojtíšková
7.00 pm Concert by the PKF – Prague Philharmonia and soloists in the Imperial Hall
8.00 pm Meeting the artists with refreshments provided by the head chef of the Lobkowicz Palace

Stefan Dohr has been proclaimed the “king of his instrument” by the New York Chronicle. As the principal horn of the Berlin Philharmonic who has performed as a soloist under the baton of Daniel Barenboim, Claudio Abbado and Christian Thielemann, he is undoubtedly the most proficient candidate to show off the beauty of this instrument. He collaborates on chamber projects with a number of stellar performers, such as Ian Bostridge or Maurizio Pollini. Dohr also found admirers among composers. Toshio Hosohawa wrote Moment of Blossoming for him, which Dohr performed with the Berlin Philharmonic and Sir Simon Rattle; a concerto written by Wolfgang Rihm was premiered by Dohr at the Lucerne Festival in 2014.

Music across three centuries: this is how we can characterize this year’s Lobkowicz Series. We will begin chronologically in the 18th century and will hear Mozart’s Concerto for Horn No. 3, a piece featuring characteristic elegance and lightness of Classicism. Janáček’s Idyll from the second half of the 19th century has a calm, romantic mood, which the composer may have acquired during his stay in Germany where this piece was created. The 20th century is represented by a great Czech composer Josef Suk. Composed in 1914, his Meditation on the Old Bohemian Chorale “Saint Wenceslas” connects us with medieval history as well. The chorale “Saint Wenceslas”, on which the composition is based, was created in the 12th century and thus belongs to the oldest Czech musical relics.